Italian Wedding Soup

Cool nights have arrived in New England and I am LOVING it! It is time for some soup!

This year my girls seem to be asking for soup which could not make me happier!!

I decided to mix it up and make Italian Wedding Soup.  For what it is worth I am of IRISH descent with an Italian last name… but even I like this soup!!

I started with my organic chicken stock (you can see how I made that HERE).

Then I rolled as many tiny little meatballs as I could.  I like to make these ahead and freeze them.

On their way into the oven:

On their way out:

Then following my recipe

Italian Wedding Soup

8-10 cups of Chicken Broth
1/2 cup chopped carrot
1/2 box frozen chopped spinach (defrosted)
24 mini meatballs
1-2 cups of Orzo pasta (uncooked)
parm cheese for garnish

Bring the broth to a boil.  Add all the other ingredients to the pot.  Stir occasionally so that pasta does not stick.  
Simmer for 20-30 minutes.  

Best served with fresh french bread.  Mmm Mmm Good!!
If you make your meatballs ahead of time this soup could not be easier to make.  Give it a try!

3 thoughts on “Italian Wedding Soup

  1. I am drooling all over my laptop. I love Italian wedding soup!!! Can you guess what we will be having for dinner some time this week? šŸ˜‰ Thank you so much for sharing. I can't wait to taste it! Do you do anything special as far as ingredients in the meatballs? I make a killer chicken meatball with parm and homemade breadcrumbs…would that work?Oh and A side note. I thought of you and your New England weather today. I order the book practical magic because I love the movie and wanted to give it a go. Anywho, thinking of the movie made me kinda want to live in that type of environment. Hubby would never go for it though….he thinks it is too cold. And I thought Lucky Karen. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

