Favorite Baked Treat: Blondies

Outside of all the Bake Sale baking I have been doing I do have a favorite from scratch recipe I want to share.

Do you have this book?

I love this book.  I love how it has transformed my baking through explaining why things are the way they are in the recipe.  I have yet to make anything from this book that does not rock.  It is really a baking bible.  
Blondie Bars are a favorite of ours.  My mom makes these bars all the time.  She calls them Congo Bars.  But if they were truly Congo bars they would have coconut – mine don’t.  
Here we go:

Brown sugar

 Prep your flour, salt & baking soda

Add melted butter then whisk together until creamy

                                                  

Homemade Vanilla and Eggs next.  NOTE: I am one of those who makes my own vanilla.  While this bottle is not in great shape – it holds the secret to all my recipes.

If you look closely you can see all that dark sentiment at the bottom… that’s the GOOD stuff!!

 Fold in dry

 Add chips – chocolate AND white chocolate. Spread in pan, bake!

Finally, yes, I made them for one of my bakesales.  
Blondies
Adapted from the recipe originally published in the July 1, 2005 edition of Cooks Illustrated.
A note from Cooks Illustrated: Be very careful not to overbake the blondies; they dry out easily and will turn hard. Start checking the oven a couple of minutes before they will be done.
1 1/2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour (7 1/2 ounces)
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon table salt
12 tablespoons unsalted butter (1 1/2 sticks), melted and cooled
1 1/2 cups packed light brown sugar (10 1/2 ounces)
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
3  teaspoons vanilla extract
1/2 cup white chocolate chips  & 1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips
Bake 350 for 22-24 mins.  Do not overbake.   They are done when they just get shiny on top.  Cool in pan.  

Leave a Reply

