Decor: Tiny Table Makeover

I do not have a lot of family heirlooms and I am not sure this qualifies as an heirloom yet it is a table that belonged to my grandparents.

My dad tells me this was his dad’s humidor.  Inside the little door the table is lined with a shiny gold metal.  The girls love to hide things in it.  My memories of the table are sitting in my Nana’s window with a plant on it with a water ring rightly earned.  I have had this table since 1996?  In all that time I have thought about painting it but could not bring myself to do it.  Then I decided – it was time to enjoy the table and make it ours.

It is time to make over this tiny table!   Here at the Little Red House there is no special place to paint items.  So, I use my family room – GASP!

Pre-sanded and ready for paint…

Yes, that is a doggie door!

The color of the paint… Benjamin Moore’s Puritan Gray:

Drying:

Back in place.  I am not sure this lamp is the RIGHT size to be on this table, but it provides the light I need in the evening.  But I do love the color especially against the yellow walls.

I think I made the right choice in painting it- and I should not have waited so long!!


Creations by Kara

Shine Your Light

7 thoughts on “Decor: Tiny Table Makeover

  1. This is adorable! Love the color. I just madeover an older chest of drawers a neighbor was giving away and I did a similar color. I am going to try to get a post in on it soon. Love your transformation!!!!

  2. What a beautiful little table. The fact that it was your grandparents makes it even more interesting and special I think. It’s new coat of grey paint is lovely and It is really wonderful that you use this piece and made it your own! Thanks so much for linking up to Before and Afters!

  3. I would say this little table/humidor is a special heirloom! So extra special since it belonged to your grandfather. I have never seen something this one.
    (Like Maureen, I’d love to have peeked at the inside too :o) And how cute that your girls liked to hide things in it :o) …When our older daughter was almost 2yrs old, and we would visit my parents, she had a specific little nightstand (that belonged to my dad’s uncle) inside which she loved to “tuck” away her little baby dolls and toys for “safe keeping”. We have that little nightstand in our home now.

    Blessings & Aloha!
    So nice to meet you! I’m popping over through Lisa’s Before & After party. If you get a chance to stop by, I’d love to share with you the progress that our daughter is at with their nursery :o) Nursery time…

  4. Pingback: Tiny Table: Inside « Little Red House Designs

Leave a Reply

