Frozen Peas

I can think of better ways to use a bag of Trader Joe’s Frozen Peas but I am glad I had them on hand!

Coco, my dancing obsessed on the edge of teenager-hood daughter, loves to leap.  In fact, she has dedicated her new bedroom as her ‘leaping place’.  I know this because every time she lands, the light fixture in my dining room below rattles.

Nary a day goes by when I say ‘please be careful, your dance team is counting on you in X weeks.  I don’t want you to hurt yourself’!

1-IMG_4961

I have learned this week that the hardest words to never say are:

 ‘I told you so!’

SO we are 9 days out until our first competition weekend away and she rolled her ankle on a leap landing two days ago.  Her tears told me it hurt.  Really hurt.  There is no ankle swelling (GOOD!) but it seems she has sprained her Achilles tendon (BAD!).

We are icing, resting and waiting.  

I know she is disappointed  I am too.

Yesterday she was able to take a few steps.  She went to Middle School on crutches.

When I picked her up at the end of the day and she had tears streaming down her face that was all I needed to see that was a hard day.  In spite of an elevator key, cute boys to help her and special attention apparently it was all very overwhelming.

More icing, resting and waiting…  

I hope today is a better day.

Leave a Reply

