Summer 2013 Winds Down


2-IMG_2848
Apologies ahead of time – as this is my obligatory ‘Back to School’ post.  But if you hang on – there is a great suggestion found below!

_____________________________________________________________________________

We had a great summer!  We traveled and relaxed.  Rode a few roller coasters and the girls had time away at camp.  Went to my first racetrack and kept at the gym.  Learned a lot about my health and how my diet will need to move forward.  Even had a few moments of crafting.

Some of these I will touch on over the next month.

But the big news is: They are back to school!

Coco is in the middle of Middle School at grade 7

2-IMG_6687

3-IMG_6691

Lulu is finishing up her Elementary School career as a 5th grader this year (which means:  school play)IMG_6649

IMG_6651

I think they are both beautiful girls inside and out.  So much growth over the summer.

Poor Nora is not pleased to see them go, but she is officially mine again from the hours of 8-3 ❤

1-IMG_2867

OK, on to my back to school hint!  Thanks for hanging in there.

I spent some time trying to figure out ways to make life easier with school lunches and tripped on an amazing suggestion I found here at 100 Days of Real Food.  There are not many foods both my girls love and regularly ask for but my soups seem to make them happy.  However, when I make a pot it is gone in two days and does not leave much for left overs.

So, I decided to make them each a batch of their favorite soup and I froze it in Mason Jars in thermos size portions.  (Yes, it took me 7 years of school to think to do this!).

Now my freezer has 8 jars of their soup for each of them ready to go!

1-IMG_6627

I popped two into the fridge yesterday morning to start a defrost, then poured the contents into a saucepan this morning until really hot then right into their thermos.  I even popped a homemade blueberry muffin in too!  (I am overcoming some of my fears of baking!)

I figure I am good for 1x week for the next 8 weeks.

The girls even looked excited about today’s lunch!





Leave a Reply

