Low Carb Update & Quiche – with a CRUST!

It has officially been 22 months since I started eating a sugar-free, grain-free & low carb diet.  If I recall that is how long it took me to grow my hair color out! I started this journey in March of 2012.

Just as a reminder of where I started – this is me January 2012:

09-IMG_1257_edited-1

 I have been successful through 2 Easters, 2 summer vacations,  1 trip to Disney World, 1 trip to Saratoga, 2 Halloweens, 2 Christmases and almost 2 birthdays.  Sometimes the holidays pose less problems than everyday life.

 But still: no cakes, no pizza, no ice creams, no candies.

I have held my 40 pound weight loss officially for one year now.  I have lost weight in the past but never have I kept it off for a year.

4-IMG_0064

3-IMG_6582

2-IMG_7059

In the past few months I have been playing with adding some new foods back in place of old foods.  Namely: Almond Flour, Coconut Flour and playing with some sweeteners other than stevia.  (I am still anti Nutrasweet or Splenda.)

I am on the fence about these additions.  I am not sure they are helping my waistline – but they don’t seem to be hurting it either.  I worry about bringing foods I have not eaten in years might trigger me for wanting more and more.  SO I have dipped my toes slowly and have only now decided to start talking about it.

I will start with Blanched Almond Flour (not to be confused with Almond Meal).  As I mentioned already I am LOVING the website & cookbooks of Maria’s Mind Body and Health.  Her knowledge is amazing and she puts food together in a way that I can eat it.  She is my motivation these days.

I made a Greek Quiche recipe from her Savory Cookbook.  And it had a CRUST!  The hardest part was not over eating it because it was so good.

I am working towards adapting recipes to work for the Mr. who is a little picky.  I decided to make the crust and substitute my own Quiche filling.  I hit the jackpot.

1-IMG_7675

I made a Sausage Mushroom, Cheddar Quiche for dinner the other night.  Served it with a salad.

It may not seem like a big deal but I have been pretty restrictive about adding new foods in different ways.  I was very proud of stepping out of my box.

The best part is there were leftovers for lunch the next day.

I am looking forward to continuing this in the year 2014.  It helps that the Holidays are behind us now!

1-Christmas day 2013

One thought on “Low Carb Update & Quiche – with a CRUST!

  1. Just wanted to check in again and say that your hair grew in beautifully! I am at the 6 month mark now, and you were a big inspiration for me. I noticed that you seem to be keeping it straight now, rather than curly. Is there a reason for this? Do you have any products or tips for straightening curly hair that’s also salt and pepper?

    Sorry for always asking gray hair questions!

    Best,
    Rebecca

Leave a Reply

